20 Days!

First, I want to say sorry, for never blogging anymore- between schoolwork, interning and then the holidays, there were not enough hours in any day. The holidays brought family, fun and tons of food, followed by mornings at the gym to try to sweat off all of the cookies.

As I sit to blog, I cannot help my nervous and excited feelings about leaving to study abroad in 20 days. In 20 days, I will be flying over the Atlantic Ocean, hopefully sleeping, on my way to Paris. In 20 days, I will be starting an incredible journey, living in a foreign country for 5 months. In 20 days, I will be starting a once in a lifetime experience and I cannot wait.

As excited as I am that in 20 days I am leaving, I am slowly freaking out and starting to get very nervous. I got a new suitcase for Christmas, which is awesome, but it is still sitting under the tree as I contemplate how on earth to pack for 5 months over the course of possibly 3 seasons. Not only am I nervous about packing I am starting to realize that my fast talking, slurred English is not going to cut it in Paris. I am beyond excited to be surrounded by the language I have been studying since 8th grade and finally solidify all of my skills but it is terrifying to know that I will have 5 classes, all taught in French, sometimes I can barely handle classes in English!

As I get nervous to be away from friends and family, live abroad in 5 months and not know anyone, I get excited, excited to prance around Paris with a baguette and a bottle of wine and to do something that I will never have the opportunity to do again. I am excited to be the tourist American girl, walking around with my camera around my neck and taking pictures and ooh-ing and ahh-ing over all the sites, sounds, foods and boys!

As I prepare to leave, I am going to purchase a Kindle Fire, so I can read, have textbooks in one spot and have a lighter option than a laptop for traveling the world! Please feel free to send book recommendations, there will be lots of traveling and time spent under the la tour Eiffel soaking it all in and reading.  

About Bake Sales and Boot Camp

I am Brianna Rooney and I just finished my sophomore year at Temple University where I am studying public relations and French. This past year at Temple I learned so much, particularly of my interest for non-profit public relations through volunteering at Tree House Books. I am the secretary of Young Friends of Tree House Books where Temple students fund-raise for Tree House as well as on the executive board of Temple's chapter of PRSSA where I serve as the Historian/ Alumni Relations chair as well as a staff member of PRowl Public Relations. As I learn more about myself, and what I want to do with my future, I will be sharing it here, all of my experiences, whether finding a new recipe or a great internship, I cannot wait to share it with you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

