Whatever your job, stay involved!

So this summer I wanted to intern but being a college student not working during the year, I needed a job to make money instead. I am nannying full time this summer but even though I am not interning or working on something directly related to public relations, I made a list of things I could do to stay caught up and on my toes!

1. Language! As a French minor and a student going abroad in 7 months (not that I am counting) I cannot slack off all summer and not practice the language. Going from speaking, writing and reading French every day during the semester, taking time off during the summer is a bad idea and can leave you rusty by the time fall classes resume. To keep up with my French this summer I am going to be watching many French films, listen to French music (hello Regina Spektor) and reading French children’s books, I know this may sound lame and make me seem terrible at French, but it is so helpful to learn different grammar points, tenses as well as gain more understanding!

2. Read! I know, it is summer and no one wants to sit down with a book after a long year of reading about things we frankly do not care about, BUT reading stimulates your brain and is so important.  Reading a book of your choice is fun, rewarding and does not feel like a punishment the way novels for classes may be or chapters upon chapters of a textbook, it is for your own self- enjoyment.

3. Blog! Last, but not least, this summer while we are all relaxing and taking some time off, it is so important to blog. Everyone continually saying this to me, I took their advice and started to blog. I am making it my goal to keep writing all summer and really building my skills. This way I can keep up with everything PR, write about my favorite topics, what I am doing and not lose everything that I have worked so hard to learn and perfect this year!

So even if you are a nanny, lifeguard or working at a local restaurant and cannot intern, this does not mean you are taking a break by any means!

About Bake Sales and Boot Camp

I am Brianna Rooney and I just finished my sophomore year at Temple University where I am studying public relations and French. This past year at Temple I learned so much, particularly of my interest for non-profit public relations through volunteering at Tree House Books. I am the secretary of Young Friends of Tree House Books where Temple students fund-raise for Tree House as well as on the executive board of Temple's chapter of PRSSA where I serve as the Historian/ Alumni Relations chair as well as a staff member of PRowl Public Relations. As I learn more about myself, and what I want to do with my future, I will be sharing it here, all of my experiences, whether finding a new recipe or a great internship, I cannot wait to share it with you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment